Cinema in Cinema

Like many of you guys I also love Ggangs of Wasseypur movie. And I have been waiting for this movie, actually not waiting, there used to be a website called passion for cinema around 2007-2008 may be till 2009 times, a very very interesting site, we don’t have anything like that now, that time in that site, all these bigwigs of today’s times like Dibaker Banerje, Hansal Mehta, Anurag Kashyap all of them used to regularly write or speak there, I still remember Dibkar Banerjee’s talks after Oye Lucy Lucky Oye was released… I would love to hear that talk again…

So in that website, I got to learn that Anurag Kashyap is making Gangs of Wasseypur movie, that post had a black and white poster also, and so far my memories goes, that post was published before Gulaal movie or  Dev. D were released… it was just a very small news piece kind of thing and it has interesting comments, sometimes or mostly in Passion for Cinema’s post  comments sometimes were better than the posts itself, like one of the comments, not that this is an exhibit of interesting comments,  I remember in re GOW was that why would he copy something like Gangs of Newyork…

But I got curious. Title of the movie struck me. I had lived in Dhanbad and I very well knew that reputation of Wasseypur,  kabootar bhi yahan ek pankh se udta hai aur doosre se…. basically Wasseypur was considered to be, putting it in most civilized terms, a little “unsafe” for outsiders.  Then obviously I was aware of the coal mafia history and politics and blah blah so I knew the potential of the story…

I think that was the time when trailer of Ishiqiya I movie was released, we already had Omkara, and much before that Hassil, then Maqbool, Oye Lucky, showing Delhi lower middle class life in a realistic way I mean we already had tasted this neo-rustic realism, our own personal Slumdog kind of stuff [I mean only in sense of humor way…nothing offensive to those movies)… as i said I knew the potential of the movie. so in a sense I waited …

And when the trailer was released, I remember making many people watch it; in fact after trailer the real wait began. I guess I watched almost all youtube video promo stuff and finally watched it first day first show in a cinema hall in Hazaribagh with worst sound system… then came part TWO and well I guess, I went overboard there with Part II as well.

What I loved most about Gangs of Wasseypur was its theme of rich reference to cinema within cinema.  Not that reference of cinema was happening first time in Bollywood; referring movies had always been there. Like those of you guys who have watched Dewwana Mastana of Govinda and Anil Kapoor may remember that scene, tumhe main kya Sangam ka Rajender kumar lagta hoon… in some other movies like Jodi Number One also Govinda made some reference like aap sablog Mashaal ke Dileep Kumar type se ….. 😀 or now I remember interval scene of Dulhe Raja, but Dulhe Raja was a much bolder reference “ki ab aap inhe chahe chappal sunghaao ya moje hosh to inhe ab interval ke baad heen aayega…

The best of the lot or one of my most favorite in this genre comes from Johnny Gaddar …. If you remember the scene where all four of them were counting money, Dharmender says… Ek scene yaad aa gaya Scarface se… then also his tape recorded conversation with his wife one scene refers to Mr. No aka James Bond, I loved those tape recorder scenes, great idea …and I think Jhonny Gaddar is one of the best performance of Dharmender, he showed why he is such a great star. Why nobody casted Rajesh Khanna in any such role or have I missed something!!  …

 

So what is so unique about GOW cinema reference? Its richness and refinements!! Obviously this was not the first time, like my brother told me Pink was the first time when Amitabh played role of a lawyer, I don’t remember he playing lawyer’s role ever, so I think I agree with him, in the same way if you remember any movie where reference to cinema was made in such rich manner as it was in GOW, especially the way characters of the movie were influenced with cinema, please comment…

Remember the scene where Faizal Khan said Hum to Samjhtate the ki saala hum sanjeev kumar ke ghar me Amitabh paida hue hain par jab aank klhuli to pata chala kee saala hum to shashi kapoor the…

Then Fazloo’s dialogue saala tum to khudde bolta tha kee sajnjeev kumar ko maar ke uske mooh me….ab koi doosra maar diya…

Or like Faizal Khan himself says jab tak waheeda rehman zinda hai sanjeev kumar heen sabkuch hai…

But they were not the best or let’s say not my most favorite’s ones, or the ones that I found little different from earlier kind of reference, so the first one is from GOW I, this scene is a very small scene, in fact the scenes after that scene became such huge rage that people missed my scene….

“Daaru choopa daaru choopa…

Kaahe be Kaahe chupaaye…

Dekh Dekh Smita  Patil jaa rahi hai…

That scene where some of Ramadhir’s men kidnapped a girl, then one of the rapists was forced to marry the girl, she was Akhlaq’s mother … I am sure many of the readers might have missed that scene even if they have watched this movie several times…

What did I like most about this scene was the way these people were referring to Smita Patil, like she became a kind of typecast, a generic name for certain kind of female personality, a little similar kind of scene you may remember was there in Satya movie albeit in totally different context, Satya was written by Anurag Kashyap if you remember, ae Amitabh Bacchan idhar aa ….first meeting scene of Bhikhu Mahatre and Satya…

 

Then there was this scene of definite, I guess his first scene…

ek ladka aur ek ladki kabhi dost nahi hote…

magar ye to mohnish bahal ka dialogue…

to kya

to kya is important.

Now what is so special about this scene is that if you see Definite was fan of Salman Khan, but still he spoke Mohnish Behal’s dialogue … meaning thereby that if you speak dialogue of a scene then that does not mean that you agree with the character who spoke that dialogue in that movie… dialogues and scenes of the movies sometimes have an independent life of themselves and can be used in a very unrelated way…

I constantly do it and sometimes I pay price of it as well, but I love doing it so much that I really can’t stop doing that. I believe it’s a healthy sense of humor, like wait, I will remind you of a character from a novel if you remember Midnight’s Children aka Rushdie, the British guy wanted to hand over the property paper of the house exactly the time when British government was going to handover the power to Indian government, that kind of sense of humor…

So how do I pay the price…!! I am not sure whether I should write about it … but what happened today was though a little raging when it actually happened but now looking back I think that was extraordinarily humorous …. !!

Ye bol rahen hain ki yahan pe syndicate chalega!!   

😀

Leave a Reply

